to forgive or to blame

Dear Heavenly Father,

I don’t like working enviroment full of "It’s not my fault".  It is a prevalent attitude in my working culture.  people blame others to avoid reponsibility for their own actions.  However, I also make lots of mistakes, for example,  "I wouldn’t speak unkindly about my boss if he showed me some respect."  Resentment wells up until the victim is blind to everything, except how life is impacted by someone else’s hurtful deeds.  Casting blame is easy.  But I know that You has a challenge for me ; Forgive those who wound me.

Sometimes the wounds are so deep that forgiveness does not come easily.  Please help me to remember that Jesus bears the scars of others’ sins, too, and His Holy Spirit enables me to carry out this difficult task.  While my debtor may have done nothing to deserve grace, help me, Father, help me to choose to give it anyway, just as Jesus did for me.

A wronged person often feels that the responsible party owes something, such as an apology or compensation.  But by showing mercy to one who has sinned, I need to learn to stamp his or her obligation to me "paid in full."  Reparations and retribution are no longer required.

When You forgives, You remembers wrongs no more.  That doesn’t mean that a transgression magically never happened.  Instead, You refuse to use past wrongs as a reason to punish Your people.  You set the pattern of debt cancellation.  For the good of my spiritual life, help me to follow Your example.  In the name of Jesus I pray, Amen.

Colossians 3:12-17
12 Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.
13 Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.
14 And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.
15 Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful.
16 Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God.
17 And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.
This entry was posted in 上帝的懷抱. Bookmark the permalink.

發表迴響

